Search Results
Long Island Tax Savers
213 Lake Ave, Saint James, NY 11780
Long Island Tax Savers offers tax services to individuals. It performs tax evaluation, preparation and filing. ItMore additionally has capabilities in tax grievance and property assessment.
Smithtown Office of the Assessor
40 Maple Ave, Smithtown, NY 11787
Town Assessor Greg Hild and his staff enforce the assessment policies and procedures dictated by the New York StateMore Real Property Tax Law. The department is responsible for determining and maintaining assessments, property inventory records and identifying ownership interest on approximately 43,000 town parcels. The department also communicates essential assessment information to taxpayers, appraisers, bankers, realtors, attorneys and others and administers real property tax exemptions to eligible property owners. The appraisal staff annually reviews and evaluates building permits for inventory or assessment changes.
Smithtown Receiver of Taxes
99 W Main St, Smithtown, NY 11787

Smithtown Receiver of Taxes Deanna Varricchio and her staff are responsible for collecting all property taxes leviedMore by the school district, town and county. The office does not play a role in determining tax rates and does not influence fiscal policy-making. 

There are no grace periods for tax payment deadlines for residents. The tax year begins on December 1 and ends on November 30 of the following year. Tax bills are distributed once each year around mid-December and paid in total or in two installments. The first half is payable by January 10 without penalty and the second half is payable by May 31 without penalty.

The office accepts tax payment in person, via mail and by credit card. If paying in person, bring the entire current bill to the tax receiver's office at Town Hall. Checks, made payable to Deanna Varricchio, Receiver of Taxes; cash; money orders; or Discover credit cards are accepted.

When paying by mail, taxpayers must include their whole current tax bill if a receipt is required. If the entire bill is not sent, the cancelled check will serve as a receipt. Taxpayers should write district, section, block and lot numbers on the check to identify their parcels.

It is now possible to pay taxes online using a major credit card or e-check. Telephone payments can be made by calling 1-866-263-0313 or by using the website. Taxpayers are charged a service fee for this.

Partial payments can be made, with minimum payment of $200 possible. Penalties will only be imposed on the remaining balance if paid after the deadline.

The office also reminds residents that after May 31 of each year, all taxes are payable to Suffolk County Treasurer, who can be reached at 631-852-3000. Smithtown Receiver of Taxes cannot accept any payments which are postmarked after May 31. Residents are warned that the county charges a penalty of five percent and also interest of five percent from June 1 and increasing one percent each month thereafter if taxes remain outstanding.

State of New York Senate Office
260 E Main St, Smithtown, NY 11787
Senator John J. Flanagan was first elected in 2002 and was subsequently reelected in  2004, 2006 and 2008 toMore represent the Second Senate District, which includes the entire Town of Smithtown and portions of the Town of Brookhaven and the Town of Huntington. Senator Flanagan has tackled many issues during his candidacy but has most aggressively fought for the issue of tax burden relief on Long Island. He served as the ranking member of the Ways and Means Committee, was active in implementing the STAR Rebate Program and has authored legislation that grants firefighters and emergency workers an expanded real property tax exemption on their homes. Flanagan currently serves as the Ranking Republican Member of the Education Committee.