.

Summer Schedule: Top Acts Set to Rock Nikon at Jones Beach Theater

Variety of music on tap for popular Long Island, open-air concert venue this summer.

Each year thousands of fans flock to Wantagh's Nikon at Jones Beach Theater for the annual Summer concert series hosted by Live Nation. With an impressive lineup in store, 2012 should be no different.

Fans of former Beatle Ringo Starr, jam rockers Phish, hard rock legends Kiss and Motley Crue, country superstar Brad Paisley or legendary frontman Neil Diamond are in for a treat.

Live Nation has also confirmed Jimmy Buffett, Dave Matthews Band, Alice Cooper, Iron Maiden, 311, The Beach Boys, Chicago, The Doobie Brothers and several more.

And the best part, some of these tops acts are appearing on the same billing.

Tickets and more information could be found online through Live Nation's website.

  • Brad Paisley's Virtual Reality World Tour with The Band Perry and Easton Corbin: Friday, June 1
  • Neil Diamond: Friday, June 8
  • An Evening With Yanni Under the Stars: Sat., June 9
  • Neil Diamond: Sun., June 10
  • Dave Matthews Band with Fitz and the Tantrums: Tuesday, June 12, Wednesday, June 13
  • Drake: Saturday, June 16
  • Ringo Starr and His All Starr Band: Friday, June 22
  • The Beach Boys 50th Anniversary Tour: Sunday, June 24
  • Iron Maiden and Alice Cooper: Wednesday, June 27
  • Stevie Nicks: Friday, June 29
  • Phish: Tuesday, July 3, Wednesday, July 4
  • The Scorpions, Tesla: Saturday, July 7
  • Def Leppard, Poison: Friday, July 13
  • The Allman Brothers Band, Santana: Tuesday, July 24
  • Maze featuring Frankie Beverly: Wednesday, July 25
  • Identity Festival 2012 (Traveling Electronic Music Festival): Saturday, July 28
  • Joe Cocker & Huey Lewis and The News: Sunday, July 29
  • The Influence Tour featuring Wiz Khalifa & Mac Miller: Thursday, Aug. 2
  • 311 with Slightly Stoopid: Friday, Aug. 3
  • Last Summer on Earth Tour, featuring Barenaked Ladies, Blues
  • Deftones with System of a Down: Sunday, Aug. 5
  • Big Time Summer Tour with Big Time Rush and Cody Simpson: Wednesday, Aug. 8
  • O.A.R. - The Summer Crush Tour 2012 with Rebelution: Thursday, Aug. 9
  • Journey with Pat Benatar featuring Neil Giraldo and Loverboy: Friday, Aug. 10
  • Traveler, Big Head Todd & The Monsters and Cracker: Tuesday, Aug. 14
  • Honda Civic Tour presents Linkin Park and Incubus: Wednesday, Aug. 15
  • Big Time Summer Tour with Big Time Rush and Cody Simpson: Friday, Aug. 17
  • Chicago with The Doobie Brothers: Saturday, Aug. 18
  • Kelly Clarkson and The Fray: Tuesday, Aug. 21
  • Jimmy Buffett: Thursday, Aug. 30
  • Jason Mraz: Tour is a Four Letter Word: Saturday, Sept. 1
  • Florence and the Machine: Saturday, Sept. 15
  • The Tour 2012: Kiss and Motley Crue: Saturday Sept. 22
  • Peter Gabriel: Back To Front: Sunday, Sept. 23
John Friia June 04, 2012 at 02:33 PM
Nikon is my favorite place to see concerts. Sometimes it is good to get just the VIP tickets, you get to stay in the VIP section and still get to see the show.
Mark Rutkowski June 04, 2012 at 05:18 PM
Meh. No beer or wine and very aggressive security in the lot. Not really worth the hassle.
Grifhunter June 04, 2012 at 06:01 PM
Nothing like dropping $400 for tickets and then the show is cancelled 20 minutes in because of rain or lightening.
Eileen Daly June 04, 2012 at 06:12 PM
Ringo Starr, and Iron Maiden....
Maurice Allen June 04, 2012 at 11:38 PM
The Beach Boys in Long Beach! Waxin' down my surfboard . . . !
Lisacastalano June 05, 2012 at 11:07 AM
Stevie nicks rocks:)) My Girlfriends and i have tickets and cant wait.
Rick June 05, 2012 at 12:46 PM
The new Album comes out in a month and i think it will do so much better than their last effort, Summer in Paradise.They are on tour at the moment in the USA and tickets are cheap at http://www.ticketexecutive.com/concert_tickets/beach_boys/index.php They sound really really good for a band where all the members are around 70 years old.
Carol D June 05, 2012 at 03:00 PM
My husband and i have purchased tickets to see Joe Cocker.He really is amazing live. Rick thanks for the Ticket link i will check it out.
Shant M. June 05, 2012 at 03:55 PM
Love the Phish pic! I'll be enjoying them from the 10th row! #WeAreEverywhere!
Erin Schultz June 05, 2012 at 10:50 PM
Scorpions and Tesla - yes!
Argile June 05, 2012 at 11:43 PM
I've seen some great concerts at Jones Beach. Van Halen and Duran Duran. Good times. System of a Down I might have to go see.
Lisa Finn (Editor) June 06, 2012 at 01:01 AM
Pat Benatar!
Rick Hoyt June 06, 2012 at 01:29 AM
RUSH - 60+ Dudes Are Really Talented - Saw Them Last Summer - This Year - Going To 311 & Slightly Stoopid,Seen Allman Bros, And Way Back Dan Fogelberg.A Great Place To See A Concert.But I Bought My Son In April To See The Moody Blues At Westbury, He's A Huge Fan As I Am, Best Show Ever ! - Should Check Those Guys - Before They Stop Touring.
Candygram for Mongo June 06, 2012 at 01:43 AM
.where is Rush???? Not seeing them listed. Would totally go to that
Rick Hoyt June 06, 2012 at 01:47 AM
That Was Last Summer - My Favorite Band In The 70's !
Clarke Carroll June 06, 2012 at 01:55 AM
Rush isn't playing Jones beach this year. They will be in Brooklyn at the Barclays center. Not sure of the date.
Matthew Hogan June 06, 2012 at 04:23 AM
Aug. 5 is quality. July 3-4 make me want to rip my ears off.
Shant M. June 28, 2012 at 02:54 PM
Wanting to rip your ears off due to Phish is a welcomed suggestion because you obviously have a low standard for what good music is.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something